How To Use The “Dream 100” Strategy To Guarantee A Successful Digital Product Launch (in just 4 Simple Steps)

Robert Gillespie
2 min readMay 26, 2022

--

Back in 2007, Chet Holmes released “The Ultimate Sales Machine” — a modern-day book classic.

Inside this book, he shared a strategy called “The Dream 100”. It’s a super simple strategy that takes your ideal buyer from “I’ve never heard of you”, to “Who is this person I keep hearing about” to “I think I’ve heard of this person” to “Yes, I want to do business with this person”.

Below I am going to show you my step-by-step process to implement this in your business.

How to use the Dream 100 to launch a successful digital product:

One of my favourite pillar pieces of content is to create a podcast. As I outlined in a previous post (link) you can create multiple pieces of different content from one podcast episode.

So here’s what I would do if I wanted to get my Dream 100 guests on my podcast to help me reach more of my target audience.

Step #1: Create your “Dream 100” List

Ask yourself where does my dream audience already hang out? If you were targeting women in the fitness space, think about their favourite:

  • Podcasts
  • YouTube Channels
  • Facebook Groups
  • Blogs
  • Instagram Channels
  • Newsletters

From there, create a simple spreadsheet with the above labels as headers, and then in the columns below, fill in the ideas you come up with for each. See how many you can come up with.

Step2: Find the main point of contact

Now you have your list, find the contacts for each of them. So who owns the Facebook group or the newsletter?

Step #3: Engage and deliver massive value (don’t pitch them!)

Start to engage with these contacts. Comment on their posts with real value. Send them your free book, or a book you think they would like. Maybe even a small gift if you thought it would really grab their attention.

Sometimes a simple email asking to ‘just talk’ does the trick. If you get chatting you can ask them if they want to be a guest on your podcast!

Step4: Keep going…

If you follow this plan, you will land a number of your Dream 100 straight out of the gate. But you need to keep going. It can take months and years to land some of your Dream 100.

Don’t be disheartened!

Final tip: Over time you should be updating your Dream 100 as you grow and learn more about your niche.

Read this post and more on my Typeshare Social Blog

--

--

Robert Gillespie

I write about Digital Entrepreneurship, Marketing and @Notionhq | Currently Vice President of Marketing @JPMorgan Chase | UK Entrepreneur of The Year final